HP Envy 14

G

I was looking to purchase a new computer and after much research and asking people on forums I finally decided on getting the HP Envy 14. I decided on it because it got solid reviews, I'm a student at UCSD so the portability is a big plus, and I found a great coupon online that knocked $444 dollars off the price.
The specs:
• 2nd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM (2.2 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache) with Turbo Boost up to 3.1
• 1GB DDR3 Radeon(TM) HD 6630 switchable Graphics [HDMI, Mini Display Port]
• 8GB 1333MHz DDR3 System Memory (2 DIMM)
• 750GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• 8 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
• 14.5" diagonal High Definition HP BrightView Infinity LED Display (1366x768)
• SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-R/RW with Double Layer Support
• Backlit Keyboard
$1035 total. Originally before coupons $1,479.

I do have a couple concerns. I've looked around on forums and a lot of people are really knocking the Envy for having a 1366x768 display. I am currently using a toshiba satlellite, as I wait for shipping to bring the Envy, with the same display and really do not see what everyone is complaining about as I have no problems with this display. Keeping in mind that I RARELY multitask on the same screen as I am the type of person that gives one topic his full attention, is the display really that bad? Also, i opted for the intel i7 and 8gb of ram because they were basically free upgrades with the coupon. Will the higher processor affect battery life significantly? Finally, I am looking to do some light gaming. Would these specs be able to run newer games on mid settings Thank you for reading.

Solution
Like I said, I think you can use a mix of low and medium settings in games for now, but 2 to 3 years from now I would guess you would need to set all graphic options to low. However, for general everyday usage, that laptop should be last you for many years.