Solved! XPS 15 or HP dv6 6121tx or Lenovo Y570

kkiddu

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2009
Hi guys

I'm looking for a laptop for around $1000, and these are the three options I've shortlisted.

1. Dell XPS 15 (i7 2670QM/540M)
2. HP dv6 6121tx (i7 2630QM/6770M)
3. Lenovo Y570 (i7 2630QM/[550M or 555M])

XPS has relatively weak graphics and is a bit expensive, dv6 has Radeon graphics, which means buggy switchable graphics implementation, and I'm not sure about Lenovo.

Which, out of these, would you recommend me? Here is my usage profile.

Usage: Coding (I'm a CS student), Photoshopping, light gaming.

Preferences:

15.6" screen
i7 2630QM/i7 2670QM processor
Good graphics (?)

Thanks!

Solution
There have been many issues with HP laptops in general regarding many different models. I would Google that specific model to find out if there are any serious issues. Barring that, it is the best of the 3 for games which should be playable when the graphic settings are set to high.

The Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 would be the runner-up in terms of game performance. The nVidia GT 555m is really an overclocked GT 550m than an actual GT 555m. Most games should be playable with high graphic settings. Crysis will average less than 30FPS though, which means Metro 2033 will too since it is a more demanding game.

The Dell has the most powerful CPU, but also the least power graphics card so this laptop will lag the other two in games. However, for...
There have been many issues with HP laptops in general regarding many different models. I would Google that specific model to find out if there are any serious issues. Barring that, it is the best of the 3 for games which should be playable when the graphic settings are set to high.