Compaq Presario vs. Toshiba Satellite?

rachbehr

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011
Hello,

I'm in need of a laptop computer now, as desktop and laptop I currently have are old and slow. My parents are going to buy me a laptop, with only two choices. A Toshiba C655D-S5200, or a Compaq Presario CQ57-S5130. I'm a writer, and mainly will need it to hold up decently in the portability arena. My current laptop is a Gateway, have had the common issue of the DC jack prong that has to be soldered. I've had that done 4 times, and have resorted to an external battery charger, which isn't good for portability, as have to take battery out to charge after 4 hours. I do watch movies, download music, and have a ton of pictures and home videos I want to consolidate onto this new laptop. Speakers need to be fairly good. Other than that, I don't have anything I need. Which do you think would be better?

Hello rachbehr

Do both those laptops have the AMD Dual-Core C-50 CPU?
It's a very weak CPU. You'd end up with a new, and very slow, laptop.

There's a fair chance your old laptop has a more powerful CPU. What make/model is it?

To give you an idea how weak that CPU is:
In the Big list of Mobile Processors (CPU Benchmarks) is ranked #454 out of 520+ laptop CPUs. That makes it less powerful than many five and six year old laptop CPUs.

runetang

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2011
WR2, that is an exceptional deal for an awesome budget laptop, the E-450 is NICE.. I got a C-50 with 4GB RAM and 240GB HDD, DVD reader/writer, 5 in 1 card slot w/built in webcam and microphone for $281.00 brand new. But alas, the deal you presented is even better. Good laptops can be had for less than $300 brand new folks!