Solved! Whats more important, CPU or Graphic Card?

clubber2k

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2011
Hi

I'm an Architecture student looking for an affordable ultralight laptop (don't have money for a top line laptop). I won't be working on it (I'll work on desktop) but I need some thing ultralight to bring to class and walk with all day.

the two best available in my country are:
http://tinyurl.com/6j3rkxc - lenovo Edge 11 - with an AMD dual core chip and a dedicated READON graphic card and a 5400rpm hard drive.
http://tinyurl.com/5tscy57 - Thinkpad x121e - with a brand new intel i3 chip but integrated graphic card and 7200rpm hard drive.

I will be mainly using autocad and sketchup - BUT I want to learn and work on 3ds max and revit latter on.
what is more important to these uses? a good CPU like the i3 or a dedicated graphic card like the Readon?
does the rpm make a big difference? how slow/weak is the AMD chip really?

I'm really affried of the AMD chip so I'm leaning twords the x121e, but maybe with the READON card I'll get better performance in general?

annoying that there isn't an affordable ultralight 11 inch intel with a dedicated graphic card and 7200rpm hard drive.
Thanks in advance, I'm really lost in all the different specs

Yuval.

Solution
His i3 is the Core i3-2357M (1.3GHz) ULV which has the IGP running a lot slower - 350Mhz vs 650Mhz - for the standard Core i3-2310M (2.1Ghz) CPU.
Provide links to the laptops or actual model numbers of the AMD and Intel CPUs.
'AMD dual core' and "brand new intel i3" are not specific enough to know which would be better.

I can tell you right now - the ultra light notebooks with ultra low voltage CPUs are not a good match for moderate to heavy autocad, sketchup, 3ds max and revit workloads. You'd be much better off with a standard 13"-14" laptop and hauling around an extra .5kg to get better performance and lower cost.

clubber2k

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2011
Thanks for the replies: