Hi to all! Alienware m17x upgrade?

PILADE

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2011
Hi! one year ago i bought an alienware m17x (in italy cuz i'm italian) with these components : intel it 840 qm 1,86 ghz, 2 ati mobility radeon hd 5870 crossfire and 6 gb of ram.My question is: can i upgrade the processor and the graphic cards? if yes, with which components?i'm not an expert about new models processors and graphic cards, so i aks for some suggestions, i don't want of course components that are a little bit more powerful of my actual ones, if an upgrade is possible i want to have components that are far more powerful of my actual ones.
I found in italy a shop that upgrades notebooks.

You cannot upgrade the CPU. However, you can upgrade the HD 5870's (you lucky, lucky bastard). Usually I tell people who ask if they can replace the graphics card in their laptop to take a hike. Well, I actually say it in a much more pleasant way.

Anywaste, my knowledge of high end mobile graphics card is limited. I would guess two Radeon HD 6970Ms would be a logical choice. But i'm not sure what the performance improvement will be.

Notebookcheck.net has a ranked list of graphic cards and some benchmarks. However, I am having issues today trying to access their site for the list.

http://www.notebookcheck.net

PILADE

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2011
But this is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! i really can i upgrade the graphic card? i don't believe it!(thanks for the lucky bastard XD) :D :D :D
In yahoo answers a man told me that i may have problems with the monitor cuz i have a lcd monitor.....is it true?

PILADE

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2011
up to the 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon HD 6990M
HOWEVER your display must be the 120MHz HD wide screen and the addon speed will not match the onboard.

AES instruction functionality is not active without a CPU upgrade,, if the shop is any good they would know these things

Chainzsaw

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2002