Solved! Grad student on a budget having a hard time resolving desired features with low

Sindby

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2011
Hello,

I am a graduate student and am in a position to buy a new laptop. However, my budget is limited to $500 or less by my department. I really like the features on the Lenovo G470 (432826U) which is on sale right now for 550...but my budget is hard set unfortunately. I am not sure whether I should favor a lesser processor with a graphics card or shoot for a better i5 processor. I have read decent reviews around the HD3000 setup.

1. What is your budget? <$500

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering? I would like something relatively portable, ideally 14" and less than 5lb.

3. What screen resolution do you want? whatever works

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop? probably some where in the middle...I take my laptop home everyday but do science research which involves somewhat heavy processing

5. How much battery life do you need? the more the better for when I am working away from my desk, but generally I can have it plugged in.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)? Not important

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.) I do a lot of data processing, including photo/video editing and running some research specialized programs that are somewhat system intensive

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need? again, the more the better but this is an area I can sacrifice.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop? Hopefully at least 3 years

11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ? DVD writer is good for hard copy data backups