Stuck Pixel Help, New Laptop. Emergency! :(

upd@te

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2011
:( Hello Everyone,

Im new to Tom's Hardware. The reason why i joined is that i have a very serious problem.

I just bought an expensive toshiba laptop and everything seems to be working properly..except there is a tiny red stuck pixel. Its not dead, since it is emitting a static color..not dead/black.

I have read that people used ''softwares'' that plays RGB colours..etc that would remove it.

I used UD pixel software for about 2 minutes and stopped since nothings happening.

I also tried massaging the area gently and using the ''pen-point'' method to press the area where the stuck pixel is. It doesn't seem to work. I have stopped doing it since I'm afraid I might cause more serious damage to my laptop screen.

I'm so sad since this is my very first laptop and I love it to bits. May I know, apart from being annoying, are there any disadvantages of stuck pixels? Can stuck pixels really ''go away''? I have read people saying they do for some time, others claim the massaging method works, while a few say SOME stuck pixels are permanent. I am so afraid that the latter may be the case for me. Hopefully not.

Please, can anyone share stories of their success with stuck pixels? Can someone please tell me how to deal with this? Thank you so much. :)

Solution
At the very least it is an annoyance. How much of an annoyance depends on where it is on the screen. The closer to the center, the more annoying it will be. If it was near the edge, then it would be less annoying and can be ignored.

Disadvantage? Well, that would mean it must be extremely annoying.