Solved! Laptop for Development?

biloon

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
I am still a undergraduate in programming career (and game development hobbyist). I am looking for a laptop that is capable of handling software development and probably (in the future) game development. I need a laptop for mobility, because I need to travel back and forth between my home and university (occasionally spending most of my daytime in university). From my search around in internet, I think software and game development rely on RAM memory and cpu power but not gpu.

My Budget - around $1200

I'm still deciding on whether getting rather a "just-enough" performance laptop and probably get a desktop or workstation in future, or just get a super-powered laptop.

I want a laptop fully for development purpose, so I don't want to spend extra money on gaming parts or gpu. However, if possible, large resolution (WUXGA?) would be great =D.

Solution
Hello,

well a significant option to consider is to get a small mobile laptop or even netbook to take with you to school. You'll be able to write code on it, but you probably won't be able to do graphics design or significant simulations. But it will be mobile and will have good battery life. at the same time at home you could get a good desktop that would be able to accommodate all of your heavy computing/multimedia and maybe even some light gaming needs. So a small laptop will run you about $300-400 and a good desktop will be around $800.

alternatively you can go with a 15-17" laptop, with about 8Gb of ram and an i5-i7 CPU. As you said you don't need a needlessly powerful GPU, so there are options out there for about $1k and...

AntiZig

Distinguished
Hello,