Solved! Think I have a laptop picked, but want opinions

Status
Not open for further replies.

hopfrog

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2008
I posted about a week ago on my needs for a new laptop, and got a few responses. Just to reiterate, I am a graduate student who needs a laptop for researching in archives and travelling. I have a dedicated desktop which I game on, so my laptop needs are basically word processing, Internet browsing, and media playing (mainly Netflix streaming), but not gaming. Price point is my biggest issue, as I don't have a load of cash to drop on a laptop, but my current HP is 9 YEARS OLD and badly needs replacing, so I am looking to stay under $600.

Based on a lot of reading, I think I am settled on this: the Toshiba Satellite T235-S1370.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834214072]

It has gotten good reviews from CNET, Laptop Reviews, and others. The only downside is no optical drive (which I really don't care about, I was not planning on using a lot of physical media anyway, and I have a portable drive to transfer media) and the processor speed is not fantastic. But this processor should be good enough for my needs right (I am more familiar with desktop processors)?

I would love to hear from anyone who has experience with this model, or with Toshibas in general. Would this purchase be the best bang-for-the-buck for my needs?

Solution
You can find a few reviews here: Toshiba Satellite T235

It's rated a bit lower than the Thinkpad Edge 13 I linked for your earlier which was less expensive and looks to have better battery life too (according to the Computer Shopper review).

Passmark CPU benchmark score:
Tohsiba Intel Pentium U5400 @ 1.20GHz = 931
Lenovo AMD Athlon Neo L325 @ 1.50GHz = 813

hopfrog

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2008
WR2