Solved! Buying a new laptop, need some suggestions...

hopfrog

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2008
1. What is your budget? Would like to stay between $400-550 or below.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering? Size is not all that much of a concern, around a 12 inch screen would be perfect. I do not need a huge screen is what I am saying.

3. What screen resolution do you want? Standard resolution. Not too concerned with extremely high resolution.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop? Already have a self-built desktop that I game on and do most of my work. I am a graduate student and do a lot of writing.

5. How much battery life do you need? Normal amount. I don't intend on using it away from outlets often.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)? Will not be a gaming machine.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing,watching movies, Etc.) Internet and some media is a must. It will mostly be used for word processing though.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need? 250-320 GB would be enough.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links. Have checked out all of the regulars like Newegg and TigerDirect, but would not mind buying from a brick-and-mortar either.

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop? I am looking to replace an old laptop I have had for eight years, so if I could manage half of that, about 3-5 years I would be happy.

11. What kind of Optical drive do you need? DVD ROM/Writer,Bluray ROM/Writer,Etc ? Not a necessity.

12. Please tell us about the brands that you prefer to buy from them and the brands that you don't like and explain the reasons. I currently own an HP, but I am not particularly picky about brands...whatever works well.

13. What country do you live in? United States.