Solved! Looking to purchase a gaming laptop~

sh1mmy

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2010
Hello! I'm currently looking for a laptop for my friends to bring to me from the States (so for purchasing purposes, this laptop is going to be shipped to an address in California). I am currently an English teacher in South Korea, been here for about a year. The laptop I brought with me entirely broke down about 1 month in...so I've resorted to going to a PC cafe every time I need to use a computer or play games.

A lot of my friends back home have been playing Heroes of Newerth and Starcraft 2, the latter being highly graphic intensive. In Korea, the SC2 is only in Korean (go figure). So with my friends visiting soon, I'm looking to purchase a laptop with its intended use being work (word documents) and gaming (!) with a BIT of portibility. I've built PC's so I know the basics, but I'm out of date with modern upgrades. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

By the way: I was browsing the Korean market for some laptops (which are beautiful and powerful *Samsung*), but my lord are they expensive! I'd rather get the most bang for my buck, so here I am!

1. My budget is from $1000-$2000. Preferably between $1200-$1700

2. I almost ordered the M11x from Alienware..til I realized it was an 11' inch screen. For work that would be fine...but come on! How am I going to play SC2 on that? I'd be more comfortable with 13-18 inches.

3. Preferred screen resolution: 1440x900 and above

4. Portibility is nice, but I plan to keep this laptop tied to my desk. (I bring all my docs to work via USB drive)

5. Battery life is a non-issue. Where in Korea DON'T they have outlets?

6. I'm looking to play Starcraft 2, Heroes of Newerth, Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 Dead 2 and other modern games on Medium to High settings (I could live without anti-aliasing, I just want the game to be smooth and stable).