AMD quad vs. I3 in a laptop

horhay063

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2010
Hi everyone, I am just getting started in shopping for a laptop and I have been reading alot of your posts. I am a little confused on what processor I should look for.

My choices so far are the core I3 and the AMD phenom II p920 quad.

Both will have 4gb DDR3, and either a 512 or 1 gig discrete video card with them.

I mainly surf the web, some office stuff, and I play a video game when I can. I want to be sure I can run Diablo 3 when it comes out.

I guess my question is, there have been some arguments about dual core being faster than quads due to software utilizing only 2 cores. Im not sure how old that post was that I read, but if you had the choice of an AMD quad running at 1.6 per core or the I3 dual at 2.26 per core, what would you choose and why?

Also, the intel's "hyperthreading", is that an intel only thing, or does AMD have multiple threads per core?

Thank you for your help,

-Brian

Hello and welcome to the forums
First of all,running games depends mostly on the GPU,what GPU they have ?
As for CPUs,well for tasks that benefit from quad cores(like Video editing,3D works, and some games) a quad core would be better, but for daily tasks(such as the ones you mentioned),the dual core will be faster but since those tasks aren't demanding, the difference won't be much.

g00fysmiley

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2010
I'd go with the 4 core personally.

blizzard is known for makig thier games scale well and it is very likely diablo 3 will run on most systems built in the last 3-4 years . sounds like you're not lookig to do anythign out of the ordinary so you'd really be fine with either option . on the graphics front though use the descreet graphics with the 1G ram

loneninja

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2009