Solved! Samsung Q430-11 vs Sony Vaio VPCF12AFM/H

drumontherun19

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2010
Hello to all,

I am a rising college freshman who is in dire need of a laptop. As of right now I am in a bit of a decision.

My needs are as follows: multiple window web browsing, office programs running, music play, very MINOR multimedia editing (whatever is needed for class), probably all running simultaneously that can easily connect to a college wifi-cloud. Basically a multi-tasking chipset with a good wireless system, light, and good on battery.

The two laptops I have narrowed my search down to both have Windows 7 64 bit, 4 GB ram, 500GB @ 5400, 1600 x 900 resolution, 512 MB dedicated NVIDIA (310 M), $999.99.

Samsung Q430-11 differences:
i5-450M
14" LED HD display
DVD/CD RW
0.3 MP Webcam
5.3 lbs (1.3" thin)
"Up to 4 hrs battery"

Sony Vaio VPCF12AFM/H
i3 350M
16.4" Widescreen
Blu-ray Read, DVD/CD RW
Built-In Bluetooth
6.4 lbs (1.2" thin)
"Up to 4 hrs battery"
Backlit Keboard
Office 2010 Home/Student

My questions are as follows:
1. Will I ACTUALLY be able to feel the difference between the i3 vs i5?
2. Is a backlit keyboard a real necessity in college?
3. Will the larger screen really feel more than about a pound more?
4. Are there any other suggestions on different laptops?

Thanks to all, and I SINCERELY appreciate your time and suggestions!

Solution
Out of the two, I'd definitely go for the i5, as you will feel a bit of difference in regard to multimedia editing and such with it. In regard to the back lit keyboard, it is really a matter of personal choice. Do you do a lot of work in the dark with just the TV going, for example? Finally, I don't think a pound or so more will really make that big of a difference when carrying it around- but that's just me. How much are you willing to spend?