Laptops and graphic cards?

khawarspirit

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2010
Okay, so I am a complete noob when it comes to graphic cards. I can't make head or tails of the hundreds of models of cards. :|
So recently I got a laptop, a Pavilion dv6-1354US. It has good specifications, but it has an Intel 4500MHD card. When I was looking over it, I saw that it has a Shader Model 4.0, supports DX 10, and OpenGL 2.1, so I thought what the heck, let's buy it.
But it kinda sucks. Why is that? A lot of games and even emulators (like Dolphin) lag on it. I didn't need a complete gaming computer, but one that runs SOME recent games would be nice. :(

So, I'm thinking of getting it changed. But I don't have a big budget. So I wanna know if there is a computer around the same price as this one (or a little higher) that has a good graphics card? I know some Dell laptops have ATI cards, but is there anything in the price range that will work as well as the GeForce 8/9 series or the ATI R600/R700 ones?

Solution
Mostly stuff from like 2005 or early. The Sims, Quake 4, WoW and Counter Strike would be good examples. With a lower end card like the 5470 you could play newer games, but you would have to really reduce the resolution and details. If you want an idea, find some of the games you play on here and see which cards meat your requirements: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Games-on-Laptop-Graphic-Cards.13849.0.html

Personally, I don't recommend the majority of HP laptops. The only exception to that is their Envy line. I have seen quite a few HP Pavilion notebooks die due to the same overheating issues. With Dell you'd need to look at either the Inspiron 15 or 17 laptops. Their GPUs aren't the best, but the studio line is more expensive...