Laptop Build - Help me make an educated decision please!

bharms

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2010
I need a little bit of help from people who have been keeping abreast of all the current intricacies of the different technologies for laptops. I haven't paid much attention since I bought one 5 years ago, and now that I am trying to get up to speed again I feel a bit overwhelmed.

Background:

I'm a student, going into medical school, and need a laptop to take with me to class on a daily basis for note-taking/correspondence/etc. Currently my only portable device is a netbook, ~10.1" screen, on which I believe I would be too cramped when trying to look at pictures close up/append notes to power point lectures, etc. Battery life, screen size (not too big to make carrying a hassle, not too small to make working on it a pain), and durability will be very important.

In addition to use for student purposes, I plan to use my laptop for multimedia purposes. Primarily watching videos, both streaming and DVDs or ripped, and some music. As time allows I enjoy gaming, though this will not be my primary focus. However, I still am trying to maximize that potential, by getting a fast hard drive, a good processor, dedicated video card, and hopefully sufficient RAM, all with good architecture and bus speeds optimized to work together if possible!

With my budget ~$800 would be ideal to spend, but I usually tend to add a little here and there to make it better, so I'll probably end up closer to $1000.

Questions:

1.) Processors?
-From what I've been able to see with intel i7 > i5 > i3 ~ Core 2 duo. Is that about accurate? I also read something about the later versions of the i5 having a different architecture that make them nearly as good as i7's, but functioning with ddr2 ram rather than ddr3, which is preferable for most people for some reason?