Gateway, MSI, or ASUS

blktiger0

Distinguished
May 22, 2010
Hi, I'm new here and I need some advice on a laptop, as i am getting ready to go off to college. I have 3 in my sights right now that i am trying to decide between. They each have features that I am looking for, but i am no pro in this field. I mostly need some attention-to-detail advice, as i have never owned a laptop and don't know things to look for on them. However, each one has the processor i am looking for along with enough space and a decent enough graphics card. Any educated advice you can give will be well appreciated. I am going to school for graphic design and i plan on using it for multi media-type projects also. I'm not a computer gamer, so I don't need to be able to run Crysis at max res and ultra high detail settings, but i do want plenty of room for exploring my computer possibilities. Thanks ahead of time.

Here is the link:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2034940032%201039353928&page=2&bop=And&CompareItemList=32|34-220-734^34-220-734-02%23,34-101-222^34-101-222-TS,34-152-190^34-152-190-TS

It compares all 3 computers and their respective specs. So far, i have my eye on the MSI, but the ASUS and Gateway both come close at second...Thanks again for any help you can offer. :D

Solution
It looked like the Asus would have been my first choice. But you want to get as many expert opinions as possible. And double check the specs at the MFGR website. Etailers like NewEgg get the specs wrong occasionally and you get a chance to look at the minor details like webcam res and keyboard layout and other features.
Gateway NV7901u
Or course it's harder to do that when it's a new item on the market and not a 1st choice of the usual review sites: MSI GE600-002US
Asus K72JK (not identical model)