Buying a new Laptop: Is the I5 worth it?

thedonquixotic

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
So I have narrowed my search down to two laptops. I bought a laptop earlier this year, and it was stolen. I decided to wait for summer, to let the tech improve, so when I bought another one at least it would be a little faster. The new Intel cpus are out and I am wondering if it worth it.

Basically I have two options:

Acer Aspire AS5740G-6979 This has a 2.26 I5 processor. Also it has a good graphics card. Cost: $750

On the other hand I could get the Acer Aspire AS5542G-5281 This one doesn't have the I5 but the processor is an AMD Turion II 2.2 and the graphics card is plenty good. It costs $600.

The hertz are the same. The graphics cards are comparable. But is the difference in speed from the I5 to the Turion II enough to justify spending another $150. I am just a college student, and these are plenty strong enough for the games I want to play, and the work I want to do. So why spend the extra cash? Thoughts?

jmike911

Distinguished
May 12, 2010
I have been told that the new "I's" are going to be the new standard. I just bought the new VAIO with the I7. Problem I can see is the power requirements. Hopefully with the rush to Battery powered cars, they will be able to make a halfway inexpensive power supply for a laptop.
Most of my friends have gone to Apple (Mac) but they were pleased I did stick with the Intel if that's worth anything.

Komomu

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009

I don't rly think battery powered cars will make it, you still have to charge them up for 15 hours to make them work for 5, and you are still polluting the atmosphere (unless you run on wind or water power)

I think hydrogen cars will make it better.

Komomu

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009