Audiophile Pc setup

simpleandordinary

Honorable
Feb 23, 2012
Hello,

I'm a college student and just wanna start my 1st serious audio build.

Currently using a Altec Lansing MX6021 2.1 Expressionist Ultra Speaker System which I got as a gift last 2 years..

Could any one suggest any good product to me so that I can connect them to my desktop..

My budget is $1000-$1200

Thanks

Solution
marv does have a point... sometimes relatively unknown brands do sound great for the money paid. however, you are taking a HUGE gamble if you do not do EXTENSIVE research on specs, the brand and comparing them to other speakers by listening to them. in general if you arent audio savvy at all... its best to stick to well known brands (which often have LOTS of reviews on them).

@op

go to a store with a home theater section and listen to a few sets to figure out what you like. personally i thought quite a few sounded great but what got me into klipsch was the fact that they are very well built for the price.

as i stated earlier you can probably get into a set like mine in your budget if you get them on sale or get a cheaper receiver...
depends how serious you are.

do you want a pc speaker recommendation? the logitech z5500 is in the $900 range and seems to get decent reviews. however if you are going to spend that kind of cash....

the other option is to get home theater speakers, a subwoofer and a receiver. depending on what you buy the system should be better built, sound better and future proof you. with a receiver you can use it for more than just a pc... it can work with your console gaming or tv as well.