Blank screen on startup - XPS M1530

Status
Not open for further replies.

Senai

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2008
I woke up this morning and tried turning on my xps laptop and to my suprise it... doesn't. The power comes on, the power LED is on and it makes all the sounds the laptop itself makes on start up but the screen just stays blank. I tried to leave it on while I showered but still nothing happens.

I've already looked through the tech support and couldn't find anything. It tells me my LCD may be broken but if that's the case an external monitor would work but even using one nothing is displayed so i can rule out a broken LCD. I called tech support and the agent doesn't even give support and just tells me right off the bat i need to replace my LCD for $499 even though i told him i tried using an external mon and can rule out a broken LCD so no help there.

Can anyone advise as to what may be wrong and what I can do? I really do hope it isn't faulty hardware as i am a student and just don't have that kind of money to fork out. Also it may be noted I've had absolutely no problems with it in the past and the night I was using it before it was working perfectly fine.

G

Return it to the dealer. If you did nothing negligent he should be prepared to repair or replace at his cost within a reasonable period of purchase -- which, for a consumer durable, is well beyond the year of any manufacturer's warranty in most jurisictions (though six years is a realistic limit in the UK where I live).

If he quotes warranty terms, quote back the bit about it not affecting your normal consumer rights.

However, I note that you have XP so this probably isn't exactly a new computer. As it sounds like a motherboard fault, you may be forced to consider buying a replacement (that will probably now cost less than repair).

Senai

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2008