Solved! Need help buying a laptop 800-1000$

senvae

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2009
Hey people,

I build my own desktops but my current laptop blows big time. I have little experience with laptops and the upgrade possibilities aren't good enough for me. So if anyone is willing to brag about an awesome find online, or any models they see, let me know. As one of the stickies in this forum suggested, I will answer the suggested questions.

1_What is your budget? I want a cap of approx 1000$ Canadian, but don't let that stop you from showing me an amazing laptop that would be slightly over, as long as its awesome deal.

2_What is the size of the notebook that you are considering? I would love to get a screen of 16" or more.

3_What screen resolution do you want? Doesn't matter, but with a 16"+ screen I would love to have 720p or above capacities.

4_Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop? It would be pretty hard to beat my desktop with a laptop, since I already have a gaming machine, I am looking for something more work functional. It's for a small business and writing texts. I prefer dedicated graphics though.

5_How much battery life do you need? Not too fussy here, I plug my laptop in all the time. If a laptop has a fantastic battery life I suppose I would enjoy doing some of my writings in the park. So let me know if you find a solution to that.

6_Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)? Not really interested.

7_What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing,watching movies, Etc.) I might use it to watch movies, no editing.

8_How much storage (H.D.D Capacity) do you need? Not fussy here either, I would rather have a speedy 160Gb than a 5400 500Gb+. I want my lappy to start fast if possible.