Solved! Choice of CPU - video card (Dell)

chepeps

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2010
Hello,

I am ready to buy a Studio 17 from Dell but I am having difficulties to decide between two different option for CPU and video card.

1) core i7 720QM + 1GB2 ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650
or
2) core i5 520M + ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5650, 1GB

The prices are very similar (and this is not the issue). I am really no expert but I have the feeling that the CPU of the first one is better but its video card is weaker...

I am really no expert and would warmly welcome a few words of advice.

I am not an intensive gamer but, this is my "desktop" and I would like to be able to play a few recent games (even if not with all graphic options at max) and hopefully run "new" games (in decent settings) for as long as I can (I am likely to keep this computer for approximately 3 years).

Many many thanks for your help !

Solution
The GPUs are fairly close. And I think for most current games the CPUs would be pretty close as well.
But I'd have to think that the Core i7 720QM might have an edge in future games, even with the slightly less powerful GPU.

A few benchmark comparisons to compare the CPUs and GPUs.
3DMark 05
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 = 13023
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5165 = 13284
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650 = 12609
NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M = 12579
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730 = 14023

Passmark CPU benchmark
Intel Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40GHz (2.93 turbo) = 2489
Intel Core i7 720QM @ 1.60GHz (2.8 turbo) = 3242

For price comparison look at:
TOSHIBA Satellite A505-Core i7 720QM 16" 4GB 500GB HDD 5400rpm GeForce GT 330M $1000
ASUS N61JQ-X1...
The GPUs are fairly close. And I think for most current games the CPUs would be pretty close as well.
But I'd have to think that the Core i7 720QM might have an edge in future games, even with the slightly less powerful GPU.

A few benchmark comparisons to compare the CPUs and GPUs.
3DMark 05
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 = 13023
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5165 = 13284