Denon 1912 Settings

Status
Not open for further replies.

caissuper

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2011
not sure if this thread falls under High-End Audio Sub-category....

i am a newbie to Receivers and home theater; i know some of my friends say i should have gone with htib but i do not regret the move though..
i get good (know its subjective!) sound but is this all? may be i had my expectation high? Especially with the subwoofer!

tried with both Velodyne and Polk

i have a room of 10ft X 20ft (filled with furniture)
Receiver: Denon 1912
Front speaker Pair: Polk Tsi 100
Center Speaker: Polk CS10
Surround/Rear Speakers: Polk RTi A1
Subwoofer: Polk psw 225i (earlier)/Velodyne Impact mini (present)

distance from viewing position to speakers:
center/front: around 9ft
rear: round 7 ft
subwoofer: 9ft (denon audyssey setup always detected 27ft; which i think even manual said it may detect farther than actually it is! dont know why though). i m not looking for sub-woofer to be like windows rattling sound or have my apartment neighbor jump out of his couch but decent bass which i do not even feel it even when i stand beside it... i initially thought the wireless Polk subwoofer was not working properly and exchanged it for Velodyne after reading reviews that it has such a bass that it can even
make your neighbor complain! it could be that it is a user error; that's me : )

i have read a lot of reviews and settings on the web and couldn't conclude one way of doing things but not sure if i finally settled with the "right" settings...
its been more than a week and i haven't yet even tried half of Denons options!

i have MultiEQ set to Audyssey
Dynamic EQ ON
reference offset 0 db
Dyamic Volume: day
Audio delay: 0ms

i had Audyssey run but didnt like the sound after the setup was done so changed as below:
channel level:
front:3.5db
center: 4.5db
subwoofer: 5db
surround L/R: 10db
surround mode for movie/music: dolby PLII (tried other ones too)
amp assign: normal