Laptop HDD Upgrade SSD

santoshnavale

Distinguished
May 2, 2009
Hi All,

I own a Dell Vostro 1700. Its been good 2 years. Now I plan to upgrade the mechanical HDD to a SSD Intel X-25-M 80GB. I will be trading a 120GB drive for a super cool 80GB SSD. Not really a step down I guess. What should I take care before I make this purchase. As it is a 2.5" drive I am hoping it will slip in. Will I need any adapters. Also OS choice. I read that I will require TRIM enabled OS. What is this. I mostly use linux so does anyone see a problem.

Thanks
Santosh

Solution
I do have to confess to something: I have no experience with SSD drives, this is all me googling stuff up.

you could do something complicated with the intel tools and all, but maybe it is an idea if you create a virtual machine inside your windows 7 installation, in which you run XP. Other option: try seeing if you set the games to compatibility mode, if then they will run in Win7. (you could also create a linux machine with xp virtual machine)

for making a virtual machine I reccomend you use VirtualBox. It is a nice very well performing virtual machine client from Sun. (creators of JAVA)

im just trying to lay out all the options you have, so you can choose what suits you best.

Im not that great a fan of dual boot anymore, and with...

santoshnavale

Distinguished
May 2, 2009

What do you mean by low foot print? I too use ubuntu, sorry for not mentioning that. I read that ubuntu is missing TRIM support. So is it advisable to go for a SSD?

N.Broekhuijsen

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2009
well honestly i dont believe youll get much of a performance improvement by getting an SSD if your using ubuntu. mechanical hard drives are plenty fast for a low footprint OS

low foot print = needs little resources to run, little hardware. Ubuntu when idling from startup uses less than 250 mb ram, windows 7 uses more than 1.2gb. does that make sense?

I dont have much experience with SSD drives, but I dont believe TRIM is essential.