Help with new audio system

pmacarthur

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2011
ok,

i just bought a pretty high end speaker system from Logitech (the z906) and im not sure if i am connecting it in the best possible way. im not very experienced with audio i usually just deal with the one green 3.5mm that spits out audio. the cable that came with the z906 however has black tan and green, so i figured that if i connect those cables to the back of my pc that everything would work ok. well nothing happens.... im not sure if it is something that i need to enable in windows or what but the only way i can get audio at all is to use the same green audio connector (on the new cable) that i used with my old system... you can hear audio come from all speakers and the sub when playing music or whatever but im not certain that it is correctly configured for 5.1 because in the audio feature in windows, the "test" does not work with all of the speakers it just picks up the front R and L speakers.my motherboard has what seems like quite a few audio options on it so i don't think i need a sound card, but im really not sure. my motherboard is an evga E758-A1. here is a link for a picture of the I/O panel on the back.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188039

also i was wondering what the fiber jack on there was for... any help would be appreciated.

thanks

anwaypasible

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2007
green - front speakers
black - rear surround speakers
orange/tan - subwoofer and center

pink - microphone input
blue - preamp input
grey - middle surround speakers (for 7.1 setup)

windows audio control panel should show what speaker configuration is to be used.
you have to play a surround sound format OR the soundcard has to encode the audio into a surround sound format.
3.5mm outputs are analog and wont have a digital surround sound format going across those cables.

the 'best' way is to choose analog outputs or digital outputs and compare them both.