Problem with my subwoofer

blazerboy

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2010
My father in laws Sony SA-VE835ED Subwoofer doesnt work anymore, hasnt for about a month, it was working great and then just next thing u know a month goes by and its not working anymore, the light wont turn on on the power switch for on/off. My impression is that its a blown fuse/fuses in the sub. But then again im new to this so im not too sure. I found something on another website forum stating the fuse types, and i will list them as follows.

F901 1-533-310-11 FUSE, GLASS CYLINDRICAL (DIA.5)(6.3A/125V) (US,CND,MX)

F902 1-533-312-11 FUSE, GLASS CYLINDRICAL (DIA.5)(10A/125V) (US,CND,MX)

I have no idea what im looking at, I threw both into the google search and came up with nothing, could someone link me to a besbuy/radioshack/frys page that corresponds to what I need? Many thanks

G

If you can access the fuses it's fairly easy to see if they've blown. If not visible damage, check with a multimeter.

If they can be removed take them to a local store such as Radio Shack -- the voltage is 125v (as you expect) one is designed to work with up to 6.3 amps , the other is a 10 amp type.

G

Any fuse that works with 125v and 6.3/10 amps will work? Probably.

The type of fuse will be obvious to anyone who has knowledge of electronics -- it's either a fast blow or slow blow type depending on application -- so I'd note which belongs where and remove them and take them to a shop like Radio Shack.

The DIA .5 may refer to the diameter.

I suppose I should mention that in my experience it's seldom the fuses which cause problems -- and if they blow there may be something else wrong causing that.