How good of speakers do I need?

dimpled

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2010
I'm a total audio newb and am looking to improve my home setup a bit.

My basic question is: How good of speakers do I need to improve over the ones that come built into your standard medium quality HD TV (I'm totally blanking on the model, but its a Sony from ~3years ago)? And what would you recommend for a basic setup?

I don't really care if it's surround or not (given my room layout, probably can't be), but I currently have that issue where sound is loud enough, but it lacks clarity and I have a hard time making out dialog.

If possible, I'd like to also be able to easily swap the speakers over to my nearby computer so I don't always have to wear my headphones.

Any advice would be appreciated.

dimpled

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2010
Budget is totally flexible, I'm picturing somewhere between $100-400? I'm unsure what a good quality setup even costs. I definitely don't want to do the full media room setup when I can't even mount speakers behind for surround, but I also want enough quality improvement to justify whatever it does cost.

dimpled

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2010
Pricewise those aren't bad at all. How do I tell how they compare to my current though? Not that I'm sure I could compare them even if I had them, but I can't find the audio specs for my TV anywhere.

And I don't need a seperate subwoofer?

rexter

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
It's hard to tell how it would compare to your old system but, usually, the Sony built-in system isn’t bad. In most cases, neither the satellite speakers nor the amp in those small systems distort once the sound volume reaches over 50% of their level. They’re ok for a year or two - maybe more - as long as you don’t play it loud. Of course, any system degrades faster if it’s run close to, at or over its maximum performance.