Question about Cable TV

TommyGun2005

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2009
Hey All,

As you will all be able to tell, I am a complete newb when it comes to HDTV but I actually have a question about regular cable.

I do have an HDTV and will eventually subscribe to the HD channels but for now I just want to stick with regular cable and get the 100 or so channels.

My question is this: What do I need to do in order to get regular cable? It looks like the service I can subscribe to offered by the apartment I'm moving into offers the regular 23 or so channels in addition to the few local channels. It's either this service for $23 a month or upgrade to Dish for as no less than $45 a month.

I know there has to be a way to get those extra channels that go up to like channel 70 or 80 but I'm really not sure how to do that. Do I need a cable box? Should I get an HD digital cable box since I'll eventually get HD channels and would I even be able to use that box for regular cable? If I eventually get a DVR, is that separate from a cable box?

Basically I have no Idea how television service works and what I have to do to get the different kinds of service. I know how to go about getting internet from them, that's easy. But this cable thing is difficult for me to understand for some reason. If someone could help me out in explaining this, I would really appreciate it! Also, I already have an hdmi cable that I will be using. I'm really just confused on this whole cable box business and the different types and how I go about using them.

Thanks in advance!

Tom

anwaypasible

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2007
apartment complex's that offer cable television for a monthly fee means they are paying for the monthly bill, and they have a license to distribute the service to any and all apartments that want it.
the main cable goes into the building and gets sent to a splitter (with an amplifier)
the splitters split the signal so each apartment can have the cable.