Help choosing core i7 laptop with RAID1

olympic

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2009
I am looking to upgrade my laptop. I am a web designer/developer but prefer to work in the windows world instead of mac given the large investment I already have in windows based software.

My budget is up to $2500. I use my laptop as a desktop replacement....this is so that I can take it with me when meeting with clients and giving presentations.

Because this is mission critical and I've suffered through multiple hard drive failures, I'm only considering laptops with 7200 RPM drives in a RAID1 configuration...or perhaps one with SSD.

I need a minimum of 250GB of usable storage space.

I need a minimum of a 17" display.

I'm not worried about bulkiness as I don't travel that often with it.

For RAM, I'm envisioning 4GB of DDR3 as the minimum.

Looking for windows 7 professional 64 bit (so that I can run apps in XP mode if needed).

My requirement of core i7 + RAID 1 (or SSD) seems to really be limiting my search. I am looking seriously at the Sager NP8760.

I am looking for other laptops that meet the specs and pricing that I should be considering to make sure I'm not missing some that should be considered.

Thanks!

olympic

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2009
here's my answers to the standard format questionnaire:

1_What is your budget?
up to $2500

2_What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
17" minimum display size

3_What screen resolution do you want?
1440x900 minimum

4_Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
desktop replacement

5_How much battery life do you need?
2 hrs+ preferred (1.5 minimum)

6_Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
no

7_What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing,watching movies, Etc.)
web design (adobe photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver)