Connecting PC (DVI+audio) to a TV

burbly

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2011
Dear all,

I'm hoping to connect my PC up to a TV... but I haven't done this since analog days, so I was hoping for some advice before I start buying cables. (I wasn't sure which part of the forum to ask on -- Home Theatre like the best fit. Apologies if I've got it wrong.)

This is what I have:

PC: Core 2 Quad running XP Professional 32-bit
Graphics card: XFX GeForce 9600 GT 512MB
Sound: SoundMAX HD Audio on Asus P5E Deluxe
TV: LG LD450

The graphics card has 2 DVI outputs. I'd ideally like to leave one connected to my monitor, connect the other to the TV, and display the same output on both --- I've never done this before, but the NVidia control panel implies that it's possible.

The TV has the following inputs:

RF In (Antenna/Cable)
AV In
Component Video In (Y, Pb, Pr) + Audio
HDMI™/HDCP Input (1.3 w/Deep Color)
RGB In (D-Sub 15pin) - PC
PC Audio Input

The PC and TV are about 5m apart, so I was thinking of getting a DVI->HDMI cable. E.g.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DVI-HDMI-5m-Gold-Cable-V1-3-Video-HDTV-Lead-1080P-/220472176983?pt=UK_Computing_CablesConnectors_RL&hash=item33552a7157#ht_2814wt_1135

I had originally hoped to get a DVI+audio to HDMI converter, but it seems that those are very expensive. So I'll probably buy a separate audio cable and hope I can persuade the TV to use the sound from that rather than the (non-existent) HDMI sound. But I'm not sure if there's a more elegant solution. (Ideally I'd like to minimise the number of cables running from the PC to the TV.)

One other option might be to try and send A/V data from the PC to a Popcorn Hour A-200, which is already connected to the TV --- but I can't currently see any advantages in doing that.

If anyone has any feedback on this, I'd be grateful!

Thanks and best wishes,
Mohan

anwaypasible

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2007