Solved! Unsupported audio signal. Please check the device output.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwint22

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2010
Hello

This is my first time posting to a tech forum and I apologize upfront for any mistakes in category I may make.

However, after trying to resolve the matter with Sony support I have gotten nowhere. So, here it goes:

I have two LCD tvs:

1) Samsung LN40C530

and just purchased:

2) Sony KDL46EX400

I am trying to watch blu-ray movies from my laptop:

Sony Vaio VPC-F1190X

Processor: Intel Core i7 Q720

RAM: 4 GB

Video: Nvidia GeForce GT 330M

Laptop Monitor: Digital Flat
Panel (1920x1080 60Hz)

Hard drive: Hitachi HTS725032A9A360 320GB 8MB Cache 7200RPM SATA

Blu-ray: Matshita BD-MLTUJ240AS

Blue-ray software: Corel Windvd v.10.0.5.538

I am connecting via the HDMI port on my Vaio to the HDMI on the T.V.s.

Both t.v.s work with mediacom digital cable (not HD) via coaxial connection.

When I connect to the Samsung I have no issues (other than having to ff through the previews). However, without changing any settings both display and sound worked right out of the box.

The bravia is a whole different story. When playing a movie the display is fine, however, there was no sound. Tried two different blu-ray movies, The Losers (awsome movie is you have not seen it yet) and Robin Hood (couldn't tell ya, only tried on Bravia so far). Also tried normal DVD and the display and sound did work for that.

Tried troubleshooting in the manual, information is non-existent for having sound issues using HDMI to HDMI.

Tried sony.com/support and entered bravia model number went to audio troubleshooting and everything is set up as is.

Chatted with support:

Bravia support told me it is not possible to connect a PC to the Bravia via HDMI. They referred me to page 13 in the Bravia manual and said to disconnect HDMI and connect via HD15-HD15 cable (analog RGB) in conjunction with an audio cable.