HELP! Acer 5534 Laptop Issue!!

JawBone

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2009
I bought an Acer 5534 notebook for work, and I'm not a total novice, but not a pro either. Problem is, even though I really, really like this laptop, it will NOT run some of my mission critical programs which WOULD run on my older laptop. I guess it's because of the Acer having Windows 7, a 64 bit OS. Here's the short of what I've tried so far:

1. Tried to boot the XP CD, (original intent was to simply downgrade back to XP, cuz I mainly just wanted the better processor to prevent my daily, aggravating "hangs" with my current machine) but anyway, no dice. It crashes before the XP cd can even finish loading the boot drivers. I'm guessing it's a hardware issue with the HDD, Sata, whatever that is.
2. I read about the MS virtual XP environment, but when I ran MS's little "test" program to see if the processor would run the virtual environment, and XP mode, it said my processor would NOT support it.
3. READ FOR HOURS on forums like this trying to find a solution! (gotta get up in a couple of hours, and I'm gonna to be lousy at work now)
4. Downloaded several programs to try and create an independent boot cd (i.e., the DBAN thing), but haven't used them yet. Little scared about it.
5. I have licensed XP software at work, both full AND upgrade products.

I really like Win7, it's fancy, and I even I turned all the aero features off to no avail as far as my business apps go. I'm so afraid I've just wasted some company money here, and I want to exhaust all options before having to confess to my boss that I'm a dumba**.