I need your knowledge! Mobile Core i7 Vs Normal Core i7 in laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

coppatop

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2009
Hey everyone. I am planning on buying a laptop to use as a Desktop Replacement. I need this laptop to do pretty much everything, and last me at least 4 years (my desktop is 6.5 years old and still runs fine).

I do a lot of photo editing, I am a professional photographer, and an avid gamer, and a music/movie whore. I need power, speed, and space. I don't necessarily need a large battery life. I need this laptop to LAST, and not burn out on me.

Sager makes laptops with the normal core i7 chips in them, but I heard that while these are more powerful, they can fry the system, and may not last as long.

My Budget is $3100, here are the two systems I am debating between:

System A: http://www.powernotebooks.com/configure.php?special=654

Screen Size: 17" WUXGA (1920x1200) Glossy Widescreen
Video Card: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 280M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-950 Processor (3.06GHz) 8MB L3 Cache, 4.8 GT/sec QPI, LGA 1366
Memory: 6GB (3 SODIMMS) DDR3/1066 Triple Channel Memory
Disk Space: 500gb 7,200 RPM x2, 320gb 5400RPM x1 (1320GB)
CD/DVD/Blu: 2x Blu-Ray Reader/8x Super Multi Combo Drive
+ Other Misc stuff (OS, WiFi, Batteries, case, etc)

Price: $3100

Pros:
+Faster Processor
+Blu Ray
+Much more HD Space

Cons:
- Slower/Less Ram than System B
- Low Battery Life (assuming this based on the processor + 3 HDs)

System B: http://www.powernotebooks.com/configure.php?special=683

Screen Size: 17.3" Full HD (1920x1080) LED Backlit LCD
Video Card: nVIDIA GeForce GTX 280M 1GB GDDR3 (same)
Processor: 7-820QM (1.73~3.06GHz, 45W) w/8M L3 Cache - 10Gb/s DMI I/O BUS (what is this variable processor speed? 1.73 - 3.06 ghz?)
Memory: 8GB (2 SODIMMS) DDR3/1333 Dual Channel Memory
Disk Space: 500gb 7,200 RPM x2
CD/DVD/Blu: Combo Dual Layer DVD +/-R/RW CD-R/RW Drive w/Softwares
+ Other Misc stuff (OS, WiFi, Batteries, case, etc)

Price: $3030