qwerki

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2009
I'm a photographer from the "old school" who is a few years behind the
technology of the current millenium. But this old cur is learning digital media
at a reasonably fast clip. :pt1cable:
I am trying to sell all of my old Leica stuff so I can acquire a digital camera
that is not a toy. :pt1cable:
In the glory days of film, I did it all - large format architectural, small format
photojournalism and medium format portraiture. :pt1cable:
Now I'd like to set up a "digital darkroom" with some powerful computers and
appropriate software. :pt1cable:
I'd love to hear from those who use "high-end" digital cameras, and find out about the various price ranges of these machines. :pt1cable:

QWERKI

Solution
I aspire to get a "high-end" D-SLR myself someday. Right now I have an older "mid-level" D-SLR. I would suggest checking out the reviews on dpreview.com. They have very detailed reviews which tell you every feature available on the camera. Also, you can go to B&H Photo's website, bhpotovideo.com, to see what the current prices are on the different models. Adorama Camera, adorama.com, also has good prices.

Adobe Photoshop CS4 is the latest version available. If you have a computer with a dedicated video card, CS4 can take advantage of the video memory to help speed up processing time. I would also look into getting a monitor calibrator to get the best color consistency between what you see on the...

chillwolf

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2004
I grew up processing in a dark room built in my bathroom (parents hated it), joined a very much film based Navy as a combat/aerial photographer and was in the service during the digital crossover. I embraced digital easily but got a kick out of watching the old guys hold a digital camera and ponder where to put the film.