Photoshop user needs advice about laptops

Xfitz

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2008
I need to buy a second computer for home and travel. I am a photographer and digital-artist and work mainly in Photoshop (CS4) with large files. My studio computer is a pc, which rules out buying an iMac because Adobe wants to charge me full price for a Mac verision of CS4, and I'd rather put that money into the machine since my upgrade to Windows CS4 grants me the option of loading it onto a second computer. But which computer? Thanks in advance for any help.

1_What is your budget? $1500 or less

2_What is the size of the notebook that you are considering? screen size? large. 17"

3_What screen resolution do you want? I am not sure. 1450x1058 (?). Image quality is important.

4_Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop? desktop replacement, if I understand the question correctly. It needs to be work horse, as it will be used a lot

5_How much battery life do you need? This is not important as it will usually be plugged

6_Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)? No games

7_What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing, surfing the web, playing music, watching movies, Etc.) This computer will be used almost exclusively for Photoshop, however I would hope I could also surf the web, play music, and watc YouTube.

8_How much storage (H.D.D Capacity) do you need? I am more concerned about Hard Drive speed than capacity, but I guess 120 - 320 should do

9_If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post the links to them. none

10_How long do you want to keep your laptop? 3 years