Laptop/Notebook Advice - Urgent

altamira

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2008
Hi,

First of all i dont know the difference between Laptop and notebook, sorry if the topic is misleading. Lets get back on track. Im in urgent need for a laptop (or should i say notebook!? :), for University paper works and for field work (investigation), im studying archeaology so i will need something portable, as light as possible (lets say around 2-3Kg), fairly resistent/reliable/stable and with a good battery autonomy. I will use it for Word text and Powerpoint presentation and problably some small photo editing/manipulation (in photoshop). As far as games, no will not use it for games, i have a pc desktop for that. The country i live the most commons laptop producers are Asus, Toshiba, Sony, HP, Lenovo, Acer, LG and some others. Its very difficult to get Dell or Gateway, or almost impossible so this producers are out for me. My price tag is around 1,150.00 US Dollars. As i said its urgent. Please give some hints/advices/opinions, its the first laptop i buy and i dont know much about laptop advantages and functionalities.

Thank you all

frozenlead

Distinguished
For all practical purposes, there isn't a difference between a laptop and a notebook.

Reading what you've said, you want reliability, simplicity, and mobility. For that, I would choose a Lenovo Thinkpad and never look back. Choose which ever one you like - for your purposes, anything will do, really. A thinkpad X61 or X200 series will do you just fine - small, light, and solid.

altamira

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2008
Yep i think thats a good option also. The SL500 is a good one? it has expandibility (i hope this word exists!), you know put some more memory, exchange the CPU or something like that?

frozenlead

Distinguished