I'd like to buy a laptop, but I know nothing about them.

Phrozt

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2002
I've been building my own desktops now for about 8-9 years. I research all the parts... the market... prices.. and make a decision based on quality and value. I recently built a desktop (in May) and I had been researching that since October. The difference is, I was already well acquainted with desktop parts... so all I had to learn was the new technology.

I'm completely new when it comes to understanding anything about laptop components... and I don't know where charts/articles/reviews are to learn about them. The only real thing I know I want is a numeric keypad on the laptop... lol.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

g-paw

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2006

Keep in mind laptops are much more limited and expensive to update so you're best off getting what you need for the life of the laptop. As with PCs how you're going to use it and your budget pretty well dictates what you should get. Other things are weight, if you'll be carrying it around a lot, this is more important. Same with battery life, if it'll plugged in most of the time, battery life is less important. Dell makes pretty good laptops, are priced competively, and there on line chat support is decent.

TheGreatGrapeApe

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2003

I'd agree with the first two parts of that, but the last one is pretty bruttal if you ask me.

I just parted out a laptop for a friend at work yesterday and the live chat was TERRIBLE.