Questions about Dell's Laptop reliability.

Listher

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2006
Hi! I'm looking to buy a new laptop (which will be my first one). There is currently quite a good deal for Dell's Inspiron 6400

http://configure.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=ca&CS=CADHS1&fb=1&l=fr&OC=OCINSP6402_FEAT_F1

The only thing I am a bit afraid is that I'm wondering if Dell's really reliable and if they make good laptops.

So could anyone please tell me if they can be trustable for a good laptop? I don't need a powerhouse, just a good laptop for university (yes my budget is limited) and maybe to play some "medium" games.

I also saw this one:

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2108768&Sku=G153-MX7118

But I judged the Dell one is a better deal especially for the 1 gig of Ram

Anyother advices or recommandation of laptops I could buy? I know quite a bit about desktops, but I am a total newbie regarding the laptops!

Thanks a lot!

killernotebooks

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006
This says it all:
DELL laptop explodes into flames!
dell%20banger1.jpg

HardWareBoss

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2003
Buying a new latop. You want Widescreen. Plus Brightview or whatever they call it for the brand you choose. I bought a Compaq last July. 14' widescreen plus the brightview is what Compaq calls it. Great for viewing. What is your price range?

Listher

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2006
I actually already bought it, I didn't have much feedback from this thread so I just went in for the Dell Inspiron 6400 which seems to be a nice machine at a decent price.

I gotta say there was an article on Tom's Hardware (yeah I think it's on this site) about the editor for the mobile section buying it and being satisfied, along with a several good comments throughout the internet.

The inspiron seems to have a Widescreen along with the True Life thing which gotta some kind of brightview :)

Along with some options it cost my 1440 total.

killernotebooks

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006