turion 64 or core duo?

cronus98

Distinguished
May 5, 2006
Ok, so here's my problem. I'm looking for a "budget" laptop (like everyone), for when I'm without my desktop. I don't need or want a desktop replacement monster, just something that will run smoothly. I will be using it for:

-basic usage - internet, word, powerpoint, etc
-I am a programmer, so Visual Studio, etc.
-Mild gaming. I do most of my gaming on my desktop, so I'll probably just want to play the occassional warcraft, counter-strike, whatever.

Obviously, nothing to intensive, but something that will last longer than my toshiba celeron POS. I also dont want intel/sis onboard graphics...thats where i draw the line :)

My goal was to spend ~$1000, so I've found a few laptops that look good:

compaq v2000z (or hp equivalent): ~$900
amd turion 64 ml-37
1gb ram
128mb radeon xpress200
14' wxga
the rest is fluff (for me)

acer AS5672WLMi~$1050
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16834115223
intel core duo (1.66ghz)
1gb ram
128 ati x1400
15' wxga

so, i've been hearing the turion beats the duo in gaming, but the x1400 would probably beat the xpress200 (speaking of which, has anyone sen any benchmarks for the 200?). Then, i've heard the duo rocks for everything beside games. Factor in that 64-bits is (arguably) better for the future, and i dunno what to do.

any ideas, comments, opinions would be greatly appreciated.

HardWareBoss

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2003
I have a Compaq with the X200. It is an intergrated vid card. It does play BF2. I went with Compaq V2000. Because I did not want tp spend alot for a laptop.The V2000 will do what you need it to do.

cronus98

Distinguished
May 5, 2006
I just configured a dell 1505:

core duo 1.66ghz
1gb ram
60gb 5400rpm sata hd

and the kicker....a 256mb x1400

for < $1000
that changes things a bit, wouldn't yall say? is it me, or is that a pretty sweet deal?

killernotebooks

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2006