Revit or solidworks where are there more jobs available

bigjohn1718

Honorable
Feb 17, 2013
I am a 2d Autocad user for 10 years working for architects mainly. I am trying to decide what 3d cad software to learn and where to learn it at. Are online schools good? Should I go to a community college for an associate degree in 3d cad design/BIM? And what software to learn? Where are the most jobs at in 3d cad? :eek:
Thank You

bambiboom

Honorable
Apr 7, 2012

bigjohn1718,

While my usual work since gruduating from architecture school in 1979 has been as a designer of houses- which I scribbled on sketch paper, I've been using AutoCad since 1993- AutoCad 10 for DOS ($480!)- and in preference to the mouse, still use the same keystroke commands from way back when.

I've never really worked as a professional draftsman, but a definite trend, beginning about ten years ago, was that designers of small to projects up to a medium scale / complexity increasingly were more and more required to accomplish the construction documents in addition to the design.

When CAD capabilities took a big jump into 3D- about 2004-5, and the magic of BIM, this trend intensified and more often, only large scale projects with complex structures and piles of details had dedicated draftsmen assigned. By this time, I was designing quite large houses- 6,000 up to 22,000 square feet and also doing the principal drawings, with a draftsman doing structure and details. In California, the seismic code makes structures so complex- that structural engineers increasingly did all the structural drawings even for houses. Title 24 code also meant that a another division of labor into the energy engineering world. Houses typically have 3-5 sheets just for the energy code compliance.