Sep 10, 2012
So here's my rig

i5 3570
gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram
128gb Samsung SSD (83 GB free) SATA III
1TB Seagate 7200 HDD (793 GB free) SATA III
Gigabyte 7850 2GB OC GPU
Windows 7 64 bit

So please bear with me, I am a complete photoshop noob. I picked up a copy of Elements 11 for my wife. I have never used photoshop and frankly never will. My wife has wanted Elements for a while for what she does with pictures (she builds websites and all the other stuff I guess girls like to do with pictures, forum signatures, facebook, IDK, whatever). Anyway my assumption would be for this like everything else, SSD for program, HDD for storage.

And then getting ready to install this for her I discovered something called a scratch disk...

OK, the concept makes sense. But in trying to figure out how to properly install and set up the program, I figured I stop by the forums first since this is the one place I can get a straight answer.

Please bear in mind, we are not photographers, we are picture takers. Big difference. I did a lot of reading about increasing ram (which I can do, but wont be doing any time soon) or buying separate hard drives specifically for photoshop (which isn't going to happen) So my question is this...

Using the hardware I already have, what is the best way to install photoshop and set up my scratch disk?