Anti-virus, needed for advanced users?

do you use antivirus?

• Yes, I am a experienced PC user (Windows)

Votes: 4 66.7%
  • No, I am a experienced PC user (Windows)

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Yes, I am a novice PC user (Windows)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, I am a novice PC user (Windows)

• Yes, I use something other than Windows

• No, I use something other than Windows

Votes: 1 16.7%

• Total voters

sscultima

Honorable
Jun 5, 2012
Basically just want your opinion on this.

I have this argument with my friends all the time

Personally i never use anti-virus, maybe once and a while ill install some form of anti-virus and run a full scan over all my drivers which never result in anything except some unknown programs that are false positives.

i honestly cannot remember the last time i got a virus... maybe some time on XP?

Basically i just want to see if you use anti virus (any form) and are you a experienced PC user or novice

i gave 2 options for vote choice incase you run more than 1 PC or MAC

cl-scott

Honorable
Jul 5, 2012
I would say that it is a good idea to have one installed, even if you think you know what you're doing. There are plenty of 0-day threats out there, and while an AV program probably won't catch many of them, even one or two can be enough for it to earn its keep.

I do certainly think you will get more bang for the buck with behavioral changes, not using Internet Explorer, not using file sharing programs, not clicking on attachments claiming to be nude photos of some celebrity, etc. But sooner or later we all let our guards down in some fashion or another, so good to have something there to help prop us up a little when we do.

sscultima

Honorable
Jun 5, 2012