Need Help With Virus Scan.

DaveP57

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2001
I'm kind of new to computers, only having owned one for about a year and a half, and I have a dialup connection, so I don't worry too much about Viruses, However, the last few to appear made me think twice about my attitude towards Virus Scanning. My question concerns a (The?) Mcaffee anti-virus website. When I go there to update my Virus Scanning Software, I am presented with 3 separate files to download: 1. Current Version of VirusScan 2. Current Detection Engine, and 3. Current DAT files. Which ones do I need to update, and how often? I'm not subscribed to anything, just using the Mcaffee Software that is installed off of my Compaq Presario "Quick Restore" CD, Which has win98se and a few miscellaneous programs, Mcaffee being one of them. Any Help, Comments, or Suggestions Greatly Appreciated. DP57.

Yahiko81

Distinguished
Jul 17, 2001
You update your dat files. I would update them weekly but most people only do it monthly.

Nice <b><font color=green>Lizards</b></font color=green> <b>crunch</b> Trolls cookies....... :smile: Yummy!! :smile:

wapaaga

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2001
first things frist you need to find out which version you have it is 4.0 or higher you should proaboly downlaod the superdat this time becuase you haven't ever done it then the times after that download the 4 or the 5 version dat if you haveversion 4 or higher. then every couple of months you should download the superdat file. now if you have three you going to have to just go with the dat files for that.

to find out which version you have go to the help then to the about in virus scan central

<font color=red>Gasoline + Fire</font color=red><font color=green> Can be a lot of fun</font color=green> :smile: :smile: :smile:

mousepotato

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2001
It's the .dat file that contains the virus list. That is the one you need to update.

How often to update? I guess, that's debatable.