SCSI Folk

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2010
This seemed to be the best category for my query. Anyway:

I'd like to set up a small home network and install Windows Server 2008 as a virtual HD. I want to install it on my machine that's already running Windows 7 and I understand I can still do this without blowing away the current OS.

BUT - how do I do this? what are the steps, what else do I need (Virtual PC, perhaps?). What should I expect when installing it? I've been told that I need to copy the files from the disk to my C Drive. Is this true?

Please talk to me like I'm 5, I'd really like to get this on my machine and practice using it, as I am currently an IT student.

Thank you.

dEAne

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2009
If you want to learn networking you need to start from the basics not Windows Server 2008. You can work with two computer either you bridge them (connect them together directly with a UTP) or you wire them with a router and from that you can share folders with them.
You can see more info by clicking Start then click on Help and Support and at the top (text box) Search Help you type in Networking, press Enter.

SCSI Folk

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2010
i've taken the networking classes, A+...the whole gammet. have the requisite certs. but, since may we've been in learning server roles, DNS, DHCP, AD, etc. we're working with virtual servers (2003 and 2008, Hyper V) right now. so, i'd get a hell of a lot more out of it at home then at school 2 times a week.
but, if you still don't want to help, i'll understand.

Ijack

Distinguished