razercultmember1

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2009
I have zero experience in programming. Absolutely zero.

So what programs would I need to download and exactly which programming language should I learn?

I've heard its best to start from the most basic like BASIC or C but I dunno :\

Thanks guys!

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
I think C or C++ is a good place to start, personally. A good chunk of the popular languages are based off C, so it makes it quite easy to learn more from there.

It kind of depends on what you would like to be doing though. Unfortunately you can't exactly say "Language A is best for Application X". Let us know some of the things you'd like to be programming, and we can give you further suggestions.

Some popular languages are C/C++/C# and Java. I'm quite fond of Python. If you want to do web development, HTML/CSS/JavaScript are all very important. Server Side Scripting, PHP/SQL are good, and Python, Ruby and Perl are useful as well.

kyeana

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
I will still advocate java or C# as a first programming language, as it abstracts a bunch of the complications of lower level languages (C, C++) and lets you focus on learning design principles.

That said, C and C++ are still great languages, and if you are willing to put it a bit more work from the get go it can be very handy for understanding what these higher level languages are actually doing and thus learning new languages in the future.

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007
I think C is a good choice :)

You'll just need an IDE, which will include everything you need (compiler, debugger, etc.).

There's a ton out there, and really it's down to preference. I like Code::Blocks personally :)

http://www.codeblocks.org/

Pyroflea

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2007

That's also fantastic. Code::Blocks is cross-platform, which is why I generally recommend it :)

calmstateofmind

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2009