Remove Location Data from Photos In iOS 11

This Tutorial addresses:
  • Location
  • Apple
  • iOS
  • Devices
  • iOS 11
  • iPhone

While setting up your iDevice running iOS 11, if you enabled Location Services, the Camera app prompts you to allow access to your geographical location when you launch it for the first time.

At this point, if you allow Camera to access your location, every time you capture an image, your geo-location is also added to it.
Generally, this behavior is harmless unless you’re concerned about your privacy. If that is the case, you can keep Camera from adding your location information to the photos you capture.
Here’s how:
  1. Get to the Privacy window
    Tap Settings > Privacy. This opens the Privacy window from where you can manage which and how your private information is used and shared.


  2. Get to the Location Services window
    Tap Location Services. This opens the Location Services window. From here you can manage which apps should use your location information. This window even lets you turn off Location Services on your device altogether.

  3. Keep Camera from accessing your location

  • Tap Camera, and then tap Never from the Camera window. This prevents the Camera app from accessing and adding your location to the photos you capture.


    Note: Optionally you can disable Location Services altogether by going back to the Location Services window, tapping the Location Services toggle button, and then tapping Turn Off in the box that pops up for confirmation. However, doing so would keep all other apps like App Store, Weather, Maps, etc. from accessing your location which is something you may not want.


    Can't find your answer ? Ask !
    Tom’s guide in the world
    • Germany
    • France
    • Italy
    • Ireland
    • UK
    Follow Tom’s guide
    Subscribe to our newsletter
    • add to twitter
    • add to facebook
    • ajouter un flux RSS